Iowa Science Teaching Section

2016 ICTM - ISTS Math Science Conference

Pre-conference Event: Sunday, October 9th
Conference: Monday, October 10th

October 9 - 10, 2016
Valley High School
West Des Moines, Iowa

Click on the conference logo above to learn more about the
ICTM - ISTS Math Science Conference and to register!

See photos from the 2014 - 2015 conferences below.

2015 ICTM - ISTS Math Science Conference Photos

Photos from the
2014 ICTM - ISTS Math Science Conference

Scheman Building
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa

Thank you to everyone who attended the 2014 ICTM-ISTS Math Science Conference and pre-conference events on October 21 -22, 2014 at Iowa State University. Nearly 550 math and science teachers experienced keynote presentations, breakout sessions, lunch, visited with 67 exhibitors, and enjoyed networking conversations and meeting colleagues from across Iowa. 

Pre-conference events were held by the Iowa Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ICTM) and the Iowa Science Teaching Section (ISTS) of the Iowa Academy of Science. The ISTS pre-conference was a celebration of the Iowa 2013 Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching (PAEMST) nominees and the 2012 winner. Names and photos will be added below.

The Iowa Academy of Science would like to thank the Iowa Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ICTM) for partnering with the Academy to sponsor this event.

Keynote speakers Daniel Lauffer, MBA and Dr. Hedi Baxter-Lauffer from Wisconsin Fast Plants addressed the science teachers while the math keynote was Dr. Laurie Boswell, Head of School, The Riverside School, Lyndonville, VT. There were over 200 breakout sessions throughout the day along with planned networking conversations, the Governor's STEM Advisory Council "STEM Lounge" and more. 

The ISTS program provides detailed information about the conference such as the events, speakers, award winners, schedule, exhibitors, and more. This year's program may be downloaded as a PDF by clicking the button below. We want to thank Traci Maxted for her dedicated work as the editor of the ISTS program.

Enjoy a gallery of snap shots from the conference.