Recognition and Awards Committee

Members of the 2017 - 2018 Recognition and Awards Committee. Their term of service ends at the conclusion of the IAS Annual Meeting in the year indicated.

Board Liaison – Betsy Stone; University of Iowa

Chair: Carol Boyce; Waterloo Community School District - Retired

Member: (Exp 2018) Carol Boyce; Waterloo Community School District
Member: (Exp 2018) Lisa Chizek; North Tama Elementary
Member: (Exp 2019) Michael Carruthers; Des Moines University
Member: (Exp 2019 Elitsa Ananieva-Stoyanova, Des Moines University
Member: (Exp 2020) Tom Ervin; Davenport Community School District
Member: (Exp 2020) Leslie Flynn; University of Iowa
Ex-officio, non-voting member: Kris Kilibarda; State Science Supervisor; Iowa Department of Education


Committee Description

  • The Recognition and Awards Committee shall consist of six Members or Fellows each serving three-year terms, two being appointed each year, and the Director of the Excellence in Science Teaching Awards program as an ex-officio non-voting member. 
  • The chair shall be designated by the President.

Committee Duties

  • The Recognition and Awards Committee will solicit and evaluate nominations for those awards and recognition’s indicated by the Iowa Academy of Science Bylaws and Board of Directors and will submit selections to the President and Executive Director.
  • The ESTA Director shall serve as an ex-officio member on the Recognition and Awards Committee and annually report ESTA selections to the Committee and Executive Director.