Student Programs Committee

Members of the 2017 - 2018 Student Programs Committee are below. Their term of service ends at the conclusion of the IAS Annual Meeting in the year indicated.

Board Liaison – Muhammad Spocter, Des Moines University

Chair: Gail Kunch, Danville Community School District

Member: (Exp 2018) Gail Kunch; Danville Community School District
Member: (Exp 2018) Felicitas Avendano; Grand View University
Member: (Exp 2019) Barbara Lemmer; Linn-Mar Community School District
Member: (Exp 2019) Mike Goudy; Oskaloosa Community School District
Member: (Exp 2020) Holly Showalter; Waukee High School
Member: (Exp 2020) Rasika Mudalige-Jayawickrama; University of Dubuque
Ex-officio, non-voting member: Kris Kilibarda, State Science Supervisor; Iowa Department of Education

Committee Description

  • The Student Programs Committee shall consist of six Members or Fellows, three of whom are selected by the Science Teaching Section as its representatives. 
  • Each member of the Committee shall serve a three year term. Two members shall be appointed each year.
  • The Chair shall serve as the Director of the Iowa Junior Academy. The Science Education Consultant of the Iowa Department of Public Instruction shall be an exofficio non-voting member.
  • The chair will be designated by the President.

Committee Duties

  • The Student Programs Committee will promote and supervise the student activities of the Iowa Junior Academy of Science in the area of pre-college science.
  • The Committee will act in partnership with the Director of the Iowa Junior Academy of Science in preparing the IJAS program for the Annual Academy Meeting.
  • Recognition and awards for secondary school students involved in student programs will be included under the purview of this committee.