The Iowa Science Teaching Section

Elected Officers

Expiration of term is in parenthesis.

Scroll down to view the elected and appointed ISTS leadership and a list of Past Chairs from 1959 to 2014.

Ken Turner, ISTS Past Chair  (April 2020)

Ken Turner, ISTS Past Chair
(April 2020)

Jesse Wilcox, ISTS Chair, Conference Chair  (April 2020)

Jesse Wilcox, ISTS Chair, Conference Chair
(April 2020)

DeEtta Andersen, Secretary (April 2020)

DeEtta Andersen, Secretary (April 2020)

ISTS Fall Conference Committee

Tom Ervin, Awards Coordinator

Tom Ervin, Awards Coordinator

Appointed Leadership Positions

Regional Directors

Keystone AEA

Jason Martin-Hiner
Science Facilitator
Keystone AEA
Elkader, IA 52043

AEA 267


Prairie Lakes AEA
Hope Brown
Fort Dodge Senior High
819 North 25th St
Fort Dodge, IA 50501

Mississippi Bend AEA 9

Tom Ervin
Davenport North High School
Retired 2003
21799 282nd Ave
LeClaire, IA 52753

Grant Wood AEA 10

Matt Stier
Iowa City

Heartland AEA 11

Robert Kleinow
Science Consultant
Heartland AEA
6500 Corporate Dr
Johnston, IA 50131
515-270-9030 or
800-362-2720 ext 14376

Northwest AEA

Jim Kollman
Denison High School
North 16th Street
Denison, IA 51442

Loess Hills AEA 13

Kim Wise
Science Consultant
Loess Hills AEA 13
2802-2 12th St
Harlan, IA 51537

Green Valley AEA 14

Kathy Lockard
Green Valley AEA
1405 North Lincon
Creston, IA 50801

Great Prairie AEA

Gale Vermeulen
641-673-5289 x1859

Interest Area Chairs

Elementary Teachers

Lynne Campbell
Science Consultant
AEA 267
Marshalltown Office
909 S 12th St
Marshalltown, IA 50158

Chemistry Education

Sara Coleman
Norwalk High School
1201 North Ave
Norwalk, IA 50211

Earth Science

Teri Wiese
Davenport CSD


Alicia Schiller
Central Lee High School
2642 Hwy #218
Donnellson, IA 52625

Ex Officio

ISTS Ex Officio

Adam Puderbaugh
Hoover High School
Des Moines

DOE Science Consultant

Position Open

Past Chairs of the Iowa Science Teaching Section*

*From 1959 to 1969 ISTS was an independent organization known as the Iowa Science Education Association. In 1969 the organization became a section of the Iowa Academy of Science. From 1959 until 2009 the elected leadership of the organization included the President, President Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer. In 2009 the President and President Elect became known as the Chair and the Vice Chair of the Iowa Science Teaching Section. This name change aligned ISTS with the leadership titles in the other sections of the Academy. Each section has a Chair and a Vice Chair. A Vice Chair is elected annually and in turn serves as the Chair and then the Fall Conference Chair. ISTS also elects a Secretary and a Treasurer who serve 3 year terms.